App and Book Recommendations for Expecting Mamas

From one expecting mama to another expecting mama…


25 weeks pregnant!

I have made it to 25 weeks! So I thought I would do a little recommendation post for any fellow Preggo Moms out there 🙂

This is will be our second child and things are just completely different this time. I’m actually staying up-to-date and keeping track of my progress this time, which is great because I’ve had so many problems and worries, keeping track is wonderful source of info to reassure myself everything is right on schedule. If you are preggo I highly recommend getting development tracker. There are wonderful books to read while you are pregnant, knowledge is power. My favorite books I’ve read so far this pregnancy are

What to Expect When You’re Expecting

https://www.amazon.com/What-Expect-When-Youre-Expecting/dp/0761187480

This is probably the most common and recommended book to read while pregnant, so it’s a no brainer, but it’s wonderful with lots of info. If you are a first time mommy, this is a great way to just feel a little more prepared for the journey to come. It has a month by month layout and summaries very clearly what to expect. If it’s there is something to be concerned about or if it’s something as simple as morning sickness, this book will cover it.

I also REALLY enjoyed a more nonconventional pregnancy book called Belly Laughs: The Naked Truth about Pregnancy and Childbirth by Jenny McCarthy.

https://www.amazon.com/Belly-Laughs-Naked-Pregnancy-Childbirth/dp/0738210072

It was less of a factual guide as the one mentioned above and more of a realistic view of her experience. This was definitely a great freshness from the constant medical terminology of pregnancy and the never-ending facts about the miracle of pregnancy, because let’s face it, not every moment feels like it is a great miracle! When You are laying naked on a couch trying to get comfy with back pain so bad you feel nauseous and a hot flash so bad you’re radiating heat…miracle might be a stretching word. This book read so well it felt like just chatting up a fellow girlfriend about the struggles you’re going through! Big recommendation!

 

While we are on the subject of keeping track, I’ve also been loving this little app that has a week by week progression. I downloaded The Pregnancy Tracker from What to Expect onto my phone and it’s very handy way to track your progression, check day to day advice, and connect with other moms in the community. It alerts you at the start of each week, shows you your progress from baby size to baby development and even what you and your body will be going through in the week to come. It has fabulous articles about all things parenting and pregnancy and helpful hints. Did I mention how easy it is to use it! Trust me it’s great!


Also, keeping a Pregnancy Journal is a great way to keep on track with everything. You can write down where you are in comparison to where you should be. You can write down what you’re feeling, thinking, great news that week, little reminders of Drs appts, what you’re craving, and even how much the baby is moving. They have plenty fill-in-as-you-go pregnancy journals to choose from, but I personally chose to just use my bullet journal to write down practically everything I want to remember about that week. It’s nice because I also refer to my app to jot down little notes about how big the baby is that week.

 

Leave a Reply

