Thankfulness Day One – Warmth


Before I even begin to think of what this day’s thankful thought is, I realize this could be a little more challenging than anticipated. However, this could actually be the real “challenge” in this 30 day challenge.

Today I am supposed to be thankful for warmth. Of course, I am thankful for warmth, if I took this entirely literal, I would simply say “Thank you, Lord, for letting me be warm today” and that would be the end of this post. But what if I broke down the concept of warmth and all the ways warmth could be applied and found something to be thankful for in each use of the word.

It is November 1st, it is the middle of Fall/Autumn, the leaves are changing, the days are getting shorter, the nights are getting longer, and the air tauntingly dips into the lower end of the degree spectrum. As I’m throwing my fuzzy cardigan on and Em is putting on her jacket before we race to the bus stop, I’m thankful for having these seemingly mundane items that often get overlooked. This is the time of year you see various winter clothing collections, and I am thankful for being able to have our own clothes to keep up warm and thankful for never struggling to have a closet full of coats, jackets, and clothes year-round. As I am thankful for this, I make a mental note to go through our overabundance of coats and purge the closet of unused pieces that would be appreciated elsewhere.

As we are walking to the bus, Em’s tiny little hand fits snuggly in mine, reminding me I am thankful for the warmth of touch. I am thankful to be able to have her warm little hand to hold onto every morning, just as I am thankful she wants to hold my hand in return. Small moments like this are often disregarded, they fall into the background of everyday life, and don’t get as much appreciation as they truly deserve. This is a moment that I should remind myself to appreciate more often, mentally pausing to take in the thought, the knowledge, that I have this beautiful, healthy little girl to love. Remind myself that I created this beautiful life that I absolutely love unconditionally, who is holding on to me with a similar affection.

I am thankful for the warmth of the heart. I am thankful for being capable of loving so much that it fills me with my own sense of warmth. The love I have for my daughter, my husband, my soon-to-arrive infant, my whole little family, I am forever grateful. I am thankful to have them to love, just as I am thankful to have them love me in return. I am incredibly blessed to have the family and the life that I do.

After Em is on the bus, the sun is finally starting to come out – the time change couldn’t come soon enough. I would love to be able to wake up and warm up in the sunshine. And thus, finally, I am thankful for the sun, for light, for warmth itself. With the sun means a new day came and I am still here to see it. I am thankful for the beauty of the sun, it’s warmth, this day, and the light that was created for all of us to have.

One thought on “Thankfulness Day One – Warmth

Leave a Reply

