Day Three – Patience


I am very behind with writing these posts for my own challenge. But that is the point of a challenge, I should remind myself of that. It’s the night of the 3rd day and I can almost guarantee that it won’t be posted until tomorrow…which then mean I will have to finish this, post it, write out the day 4’s post, and then post it as well. Maybe I need a little more patience with myself before I attempt to rush this post…
Today I am supposed to be thankful for patience. While I’m sitting here, trying to write this post, going over certain moments in the day that I could apply this patience concept to, I’m also mentally making lists in my head of what I need to get done the next day while also being attacked from the inside.

I’m a week and a half away from being in my third trimester. Shocking isn’t it. I’m also late with doing a pregnancy update. It’ll happen. I just feel so scatter brained lately that it’s hard to concentrate on doing little things lately. The thing is I’m not stressed like I thought I would, I just feel busy. Overly motivated with a lack of purpose. While I know that I still have a good handful of weeks before anything needs to be done, I feel so unprepared for this baby lately. Pretty sure my family is tired of hearing my baby talk lately too.

Luckily they have patience with me.

Ah, there is the segue I was waiting for. Patience is not normally my forte. I have a temper that flicks on like a faulty switch and an attention span that of a goldfish. Maybe that’s why I have been making myself unnecessarily busy – because I just want everything that needs to be done, to be done already. Waiting for things to get done in their own time is not exactly one of my favorite things, however, it’s one of those unspoken things we are constantly trying to teach our children from the moment they figure out how to get our attention.

“Wait a minute please. Give me two seconds, okay? Let me finish this first. Hang on a moment. I’m busy right now. Can it wait? Can you wait?”

All words and demands we ask of our little ones without giving it a second thought. Have you ever had one of those moments? Those moments where what you’re doing is just slightly more important than your toddlers playdoh creation that they really want to show you. Or how about being on a phone call and your kid needs to ask their 50th question in the last half hour, do you ask the person on the phone to wait, or the child? Here is one I’m always guilty of… How about when you are in the middle of doing something, anything, and your kid just came to ask you to play. “I can’t right now, wait a minute.”

The words flow out of my mouth without even registering what I’m saying. I instantly imply that she needs patience. I am truly blessed that I have a child who is as understanding as she is, and pauses whatever it is that she asked me for, and waits. This is something I need to change. I am thankful for the patience that she has for me.

Leave a Reply

